Style Challenge | Layered Chunky Knits

Gap.KnitSweater.RW.01.15i

Chunky knits, cool toned prints, layers, and creamy neutrals – all staples in my winter wardrobe. Armed with these winter essentials, I am ready to confidently & stylishly conquer the frigid temps that January, February, and March always bring. With the holiday season behind us, I find myself drawn to blues and greens, some may call it a subconscious yearning for spring I call it – favorite colors of the month! I’ve been incorporating winter blue as a pop of color  – plaids, prints, chambray, all perfect for the chilly winter months. And yes, those are white pants – winter white to be exact. Call me a fashion rule breaker and on a Monday #scandalous!

Gap.KnitSweater.RW.01.15c

Gap.KnitSweater.RW.01.15j

Gap.KnitSweater.RW.01.15m

Gap.KnitSweater.RW.01.15q

Gap.KnitSweater.RW.01.15p

Gap.KnitSweater.RW.01.15d

Gap.KnitSweater.RW.01.15aOutfit Details| Sweater (Gap, similar), Chambray Button-Up (Banana Republic, similar), Pants (Banana Republic, similar), Boots (Marshalls, similar), Hat (Jjill), Coat (Banana Republic, similar)

I’ve been seeing more and more layering under chunky sweaters and I’ve got to admit I was skeptical, but ended up being pleasantly surprised. I love how effortless and practical this look is for the winter. Not only was I warm but you know how chunky sweaters can sometimes, okay scratch that, more often than not be itchy? Not a problem when you layer…

I’ve been thinking a lot about engaging with readers and creating a community here in 2015. In hopes of encouraging others (and myself) to step outside a style comfort zone, I thought I would start a weekly series aimed at trying different trends and showcasing what we all come up. I would hope this series could serve as inspiration for new ways to try trends. I am always inspired by the creativity of this community. Bonus if you shop your closet to do so! (because believe me I am always looking for ways to remix my closet!)

This week’s style challenge – should you choose to accept it, is grab layer and test it out under a chunky sweater. If you put together a look with this weeks style challenge, tag me on Instagram & use the hashtag #rwstylechallenge2015 – I will feature a few looks at the end of the week on my insta. Additionally, if you blog about your look leave a comment below with a link to your post, I will pick my favorite of the week and feature it here on Routes&Wings on Friday…

In other news, I did a little sprucing up here on Routes&Wings over the weekend, a new look and her own domain name. Same site but just a little more official and less complicated. Happy Monday, heres to the start of a great week…

Thanks for reading along…

3 thoughts on “Style Challenge | Layered Chunky Knits

We'd love to read what you think! Leave your comments below...

