Life|Life’s Little Treasures

R&W.LifesLittleTreasures.03.25.2014(2)

Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take but rather by the moments of that take your breath away. {maya angelou; image unknown}

I’ve often found that moments that have meant the world to me will come flooding back at the most unexpected time. The way the air smells after a warm spring rain – reminds me of family trips in Florida. The way seeing a neighbor walking their westie reminds me of the years of walking our own family westie. The way seeing two little girls dressed the same in church reminds me of the way my sisters and I use to dress in similar outfits when we were young. These are the seemingly small everyday encounters that remind us of some of life’s greatest moments – moments that are a part of the essence of who we are and what we’ve become. 

I’ve loved this quote for as long as I can remember. It’s a powerful reminder that life is a opportunity to make beautiful memories – memories with the people you love in moments you will cherish for years to come.I’ve long thought of myself as a collector of what I like to call “memory treasures” – meant to help trigger memories of special moments in our lives.  We lead such full & busy lives that it can often be hard to recall all the meaningful memories you’ve curated along the way despite the collection of photos and other meaningful items. Today I thought I would share one of my favorite ways to display some of the memories I’ve created with my husband over the years. 

The shadow box is the perfect way to display tickets from various events. The depth of the shadow box allows for perfect storage and easy access for adding or taking items in and out. I like to rotate the tickets to display different ones in the front and I often find myself thinking back to each event each time I add a new ticket or restaurant card to the box. I thought I would include some of my favorite tickets which serve as the triggers for moments that have truly taken my breath away

A sticker from a run my husband ran last year – to support the city of Boston after the tragic event at the Marathon. It made me so proud to cheer my husband on in this race and to support a city that had been through so much; concert tickets from our early dating years; a mini golf scorecard from a family vacation…

R&W.DIYShadowBoxTickets.(7)

Tickets from Phillies games – our favorite game was with friends last season in the diamond club! So many home runs that game – and a great night with great friends!

R&W.ShadowBoxTickets.(9)

Tickets from a house rival – Temple vs. Villanova. We’ve attended many VU vs. TU basketball and football games – and often look forward to determining the reigning alma mater of the year.

R&W.ShadowBoxTickets.(6)jpg

A wedding gift to the Duke vs. Michigan game this year – experiencing a game in cameron was something we’ve always hoped to do and was one of our most fun road trips to date!

R&W.ShadowBoxTickets.(7)jpg

A ticket from the US Open this past year in Philadelphia. It was a Father’s Day gift for both our Dad’s – a memory I will always cherish…

R&W.ShadowBoxTickets.(8)

My favorite ticket stub of all – a receipt from the movie we saw the day we started dating. This day meant so much to us – we chose this song as our first dance…

R&W.ShadowBoxTickets.(8)jpg

So if you are looking for a great way to store and display ticket stubs or other paper items from events you attend perhaps a shadow box will be helpful in holding your cherished memories.

There are so many wonderful moments in everyday life. For this reason I cherish the little things, like ticket stubs, that help remind me of these moments. I have also found that I love being able to see them gathered in once place rather than closed up in a box in a closet. We have a tupperware bin that currently holds other special items from our past including greeting cards we’ve given each other over the years and items we’ve collected from the places we’ve visited. My hope in the future would be to have a chest {like this one} to display the treasures we’ve collected over the years. But that is another post for the future.

I’d love to hear how you record and recall special moments in your life? Do you have special ways you like to display these in your home? I’m always looking for new creative ways to decorate our home with the moments and memories we’ve created with our friends and family. Feel free to share in the comments, or share a picture on instagram or twitter…

We'd love to read what you think! Leave your comments below...

