Get Fit|Creating a Fitness Routine: Strength Training (No.1)

R&W.GetFit.2(2)

J and I have always enjoyed working out together. It’s helpful to have an accountability partner – its something we both enjoy in order to help stay on track with our fitness goals. In high school we trained during the summer for our respective sports {basketball & soccer} at a facility in our town; we’ve trained for and run a 1/2 marathon together; we’ve completed half of the Instanity workout. It certainly helps that we enjoy each other’s company and encouragement. I’ve often found that when one of us isn’t in the mood to work out, the other usually acts as the voice of reason that day by encouraging the other of the importance of consistency.  There are days, however, when we both need a rest day and those are the days that we take them.

After reflecting on my previous fitness routines, I found that I use to only focus on one area of fitness. For example – when we were training for the half marathon we stopped all strength training. In retrospect, this may have not been the best decision. For reasons like this, we are working on developing fitness habits that are more balanced.  Last week after writing about the 21 day fitness challenge in order to make exercise a lifestyle habit, I revamped our workout routine in order to attempt to add some variety. Its a work in progress. In order to keep ourselves motivated we try acknowledge each others accomplishments and we try to always celebrate the little victories – a great run or the completion of a grueling workout.

Currently our routine looks something like this:

  • Strength training – 3 days a week
  • Cardiovascular training – 3/4 days a week
  • Yoga – 1/2 days a week {J doesn’t attend yoga with me – its a good hour or so of me time}

R&W.GetFit(2).1

Today I thought I would discuss one of the classes we are currently using for strength training – which we attend through our gym – we started this this past weekend. So I plan to update if things change over time. There are other classes I plan to discuss in future posts.

The first class is a mix of a variety of exercises some of which includes: plyometrics, some low weight high rep exercises, cardio, kettlebell, and TRX {which I surprisingly loved}. The class functions in stations and consisted of about 10 exercises in the circuit with about 15-30 reps per station. We did the circuit three times and rested for about 5 minutes between circuits. The class concluded with one final circuit of 3 intense TRX style ab exercises.

Let me tell you, this workout was tough and I was exhausted at the end! I knew it was going to be an intense workout, when we arrived to the class early and were told to hydrate and warmup on the elliptical. Admittedly, I was nervous. I hadn’t worked out at this intensity in a while and wasn’t sure if I would be able to hang. I thought about possibly skipping the class and attending a cycling class instead. But I wasn’t about to let the class or my fear get the best of me. In that moment, I realized that I had woken up early that morning for the soul reason of attending this class and that if I gave in & didn’t go, I may always be afraid to try this class. For me, I knew that this 21 day fitness challenge was all about overcoming and conquering fears. So I grabbed my water bottle and was determined to make it through the class.

R&W.GetFit.2.(3)

And make it through I did – I may have struggled using the kettlebell, the ropes, and discovered that my upper body strength is little to none, but thats okay. I discovered that I am mentally stronger than I thought – I made it through the class and am looking forward to the next one. I also was able to experience a new workout – TRX – which I really enjoyed; it was a fun twist on old exercises. I also left the class motivated and determined. Determined to get better, stronger, and to prove to myself that I am capable of anything. I am grateful for this experience – because it taught me that the only person that can hold me down is me. A small victory in my book & a positive step in my fitness journey.

Now its your turn – tell me about your fitness journey, your fitness routine, a fun class you’ve recently taken! And if you have any questions, let me know & check out my fitness page on pinterest for other fitness inspiration

Get to know D: Best fitness moment – the day J & I ran 11 miles while training for the 1/2 marathon. I was so proud to PDR that day and felt so accomplished. It was the best run I’ve ever had.

Images 1// 2; unknown // 3; unknown

Disclaimer: I am not a personal trainer or a clinician. This post is only reflective of my personal experience and what I am working on in regards to my fitness routine. Please consult a certified trainer and clinician before starting any type of exercise program. 

2 thoughts on “Get Fit|Creating a Fitness Routine: Strength Training (No.1)

We'd love to read what you think! Leave your comments below...

