Wedding|Where it All Began: Our Story As Told by D&J

Ernst-113 It’s just been just shy of 5 months since our wedding and we still frequently reflect on how special the day was to us – as I am sure is the case with most newlyweds. We poured ourselves into planning and crossed our fingers that everyone would leave the weekend with a smile on their face, love in their hearts, and tired feet, from dancing the night away of course. Having had the time to settle into life as a newlywed, I thought this would be the perfect timing to record the details of the wedding and hopefully inspire some newly engaged couples to enjoy the journey as well. Feel free to email me with questions or leave them in the comments – I am happy to answer any & all questions…

I thought I would start our wedding recaps with the story of how we met…

J and I met in high school – we are high school sweethearts and we dated for just about 10 years before we said I do. Our story starts in a high school cafeteria at a open house for prospective students – an event neither one of us was suppose to ever attend. This is our story as told from both D & J’s perspective.

D: It was a Friday afternoon in February. I was called down to the athletic director’s office of my high school. They needed someone to fill in as a representative of one of the women’s sports teams for the Open House on Sunday and I happily agreed to help…

J: After a tough loss against our cross county rival, a family member invited my family and I for dinner after the game.  Also in attendance, the coaching staff of the rival team. After knowing that a key member of the current team would be graduating, an offer from the current coach to attend an open house for prospective students came two days later…

D: The day of the Open House had arrived. I enjoyed speaking with prospective students about our schools sports programs and was able to spend the afternoon with my fellow classmates and teammates. As the event was coming to an end, the most unexpected introduction was about to happen…

J: After thinking over the offer with my parents, we agreed that I would attend the Open House with my family member. This decision was tough – I would be attending the open house of the arch rival of my current high school but we wanted to keep our options open…

D: One of the coaches called me over and told me he wanted to introduce me to someone. My heart skipped a beat. My friends and I had seen him walking around with a prospective student…

J: As the Open House was winding down, we were approached by a student who indicated there was someone I should meet. It was here in this moment that I met my best friend for life…

Ernst-008

We both believe we were meant to attend the Open House and have faith that every part of our story was meant to happen in just the way it did. Three days after meeting, J texted me for the first time. We’ve been together ever since. J never transferred to my high school, but ended up having an unforgettable senior year season and almost beat my high school team in regular season play. We learned very early in our relationship the importance of communication and spent many long evenings getting to know each other over long telephone conversations, weekend dates, and notes left on car’s before sports practice.

We’ve grown to respect, appreciate, and support each other’s interests and dreams. It’s been such a blessing to grow up with my best friend – to experience all of life’s ups, downs, and special moments together. There were certainly times in our relationship where things weren’t easy and in fact were quite tough – but those were the moments that helped us to grow both as individuals and as a couple.

This unlikely introduction started a relationship with the man I call my husband today and propelled us on life’s greatest adventure as teammates…

Ernst-020

Tune in next week for the first part of the wedding planning process…

All images via the fabulous Amy & Tony Hoffer {all brides – they are fabulous! More to come}

5 thoughts on “Wedding|Where it All Began: Our Story As Told by D&J

We'd love to read what you think! Leave your comments below...

