Life|Conversations with Dee

Routes&Wings.Conversations

Fitting it all in // working towards managing time & efforts in such a way that we’re determined to accomplish it all… We push ourselves to the limit to do more in order to put our very best forward. Its motivation; its drive; some may even say its necessary.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how to fit it all in – wanting to do more in order to be the very best I can be. And while I know I may never be able to do.it.all, I am learning how to find balance in all aspects of my life. I sometimes find that I only focus on one thing at a time, but what I am starting to see that life is so much, sweeter, when balanced. If one area is busy, it doesn’t necessarily mean the rest gets dropped. This is especially true when it comes to exercise. When the times get tough, exercise is sadly usually the first thing to go. Despite being an athlete earlier in life, I forgot how important exercise is, especially when other parts of life start to get hectic. Cultivating a balanced life takes a great deal of practice…for me it’s a work in progress.

Another aspect of balancing involves surrounding yourself with positive people & seeking out activities in life you are passionate about and never settling. When I was little there was a television show called the Pretender. The show in a nutshell, was about a man who was able to successfully “pretend” to take on the persona and responsibilities of a wide range of jobs depending on the circumstances of the current situation. The essence of the main character has stuck with me. I’ve never wanted to settle; I’ve always wanted to live a life that was full.multifacted.dimensional. I want to be challenged; free to be creative; helpful; selfless; loving; a life long learner; appreciative; a friend; a daughter; a sister; a wife; a future mother; among so many other things. Here again my friends, is why balance is essential.

So in an age, when we are constantly being pulled in every which direction, I ask the question can we truly fit it all in? Do we have the time to be great at many things? My answer, a whole hearted yes. Dream big. Work hard. Follow your heart. If being great at many things and filling your life with friendships, families, and activities bring happiness, I say do it & don’t look back.

I’d love to hear how you balance it all. How do dream big while staying grounded? Do you balance multiple ambitions at a time? If yes, how to do you manage your time and the desire to always put your best foot forward?

We'd love to read what you think! Leave your comments below...

